Louisiana State University at Alexandria is a publicly supported institution that provides undergraduate level college education to the citizens of Central Louisiana. The university is a unit of the LSU System and operates under the auspices of the Louisiana Board of Regents.


As the only state-supported undergraduate university in Louisiana, LSUA’s mission is to provide a broad spectrum of affordable undergraduate degrees in a robust academic environment that challenges students to excel and creates proactive and reciprocal relationships that meet the needs of the diverse student body and community that it serves.


LSUA envisions itself as a University of choice, recognized for academic excellence, committed to student and community growth through teaching, research, and service, and esteemed as a contributor to the economic, cultural, and intellectual growth of Louisiana.


  • 1959: Louisiana Legislature authorized the establishment of LSUA as a two-year commuter college under the governance of the LSU Board of Supervisors
  • 1960: LSUA registered its first students
  • 1964: First Degree Program – Associate in Nursing – in Division of Nursing
  • 1967: The additional academic divisions of Liberal Arts, Business Administration, and Sciences developed
  • 1974: LSUA was accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) to award associate degrees
  • 1986: Associate of Arts and Associate of Science transfer degrees approved
  • 1988: Associate of Science in Computer Information Technology added
  • 1994: Associate in Criminal Justice added
  • 1996: Associate of Science in Clinical Laboratory Science added
  • 1999: Associate in Paralegal Studies added
  • 2001: Associate of Arts in Early Childhood Education, Associate of Science in Radiologic Technology added
  • 2001: The Louisiana Legislature passed legislation (Senate Bill 853) allowing Louisiana State University at Alexandria to offer baccalaureate degrees.
  • 2003:
    • LSUA began offering four baccalaureate degrees: Bachelor of Science in Biology, Bachelor of General Studies, Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, and Bachelor of Liberal Studies
    • First bachelor’s degree graduates
    • Reorganized into colleges and departments rather than divisions. The College of Arts and Sciences consists of the departments of Arts, English and Humanities; Behavioral and Social Sciences; Biological Sciences; and Mathematics and Physical Sciences. The College of Professional Studies consists of the departments of Allied Health, Business Administration, Education, and Nursing.

Rate us and Write a Review

Campus Safety




Social Life




Your review is recommended to be at least 140 characters long


Additional Details

  • Undergraduate Degrees:Bachelor's
  • Undergraduate Enrollment:2211
Show all
  • Student to Faculty Ratio:Unknown
  • Room and Board:7350
  • Student Diversity – % Asian/Pacific Islander:Unknown
  • Student Diversity -% Hispanic or Latino:Unknown
  • Student Diversity – % Black or African-American:Unknown
  • Student Diversity – % American Indian/Alaskan Native:Unknown
  • Year Established:1959
  • Accreditation:The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
  • Price Range $5,337 in-state, $9,982 out-of-state (includes fees)
building Own or work here? Claim Now! Claim Now!

imageYour request has been submitted successfully.